London Police Officers Awarded at City Council


On Tuesday, Sept. 4th London Police were recognized at the London City Council meeting. Mayor Troy Rudder and London Police Chief Derek House presented awards to officers for their acts of service on July 19th, 2018.

On July 19th Officers of the London Police Department were notified of two bank robberies that occurred within moments of each other. The armed perpetrator entered the two banking institutions with a loaded handgun and cumulatively took over $32,264, then fled.

Officers of the London Police Department acted quickly to set up a perimeter in the area and responded to assist the victims.

“Within minutes of the second robbery, thanks to the assistance of many civilians giving officers information, and great communication from our London-Laurel Co. 911 Dispatchers, Ofc. Elbert Riley located the suspect’s vehicle traveling on a roadway and was able to give officers the direction of travel,” said Chief Derek House of the London Police Department.

Sgt. Mike Holliday located the vehicle parked in a church parking lot and became involved in a foot pursuit with the armed suspect. After a short chase, Sgt. Holliday was able to bring the suspect into custody and was assisted at the scene by other officers.

The suspect was subsequently charged with the two bank robberies, and the money from the two banks was recovered.

A short time later, it was determined that the suspect was also involved in two armed carjackings.

“The actions of all the officers without a doubt took a violent armed criminal off the street that day,” House said, adding, “The actions of all of these officers that day are examples of the highest standards we set for law enforcement officers, and reflect excellence not only upon themselves but the London Police Department and the City of London.”

Sgt. Mike Holliday and Ofc. Elbert Riley received the Meritorious Service Award for their exemplary professional service and outstanding performance.

Capt. Darrel Kilburn, Lt. Doug Thomas, Sgt. Randy Medlock, Sgt. Travis Dotson, Det. Jessie Williams, Det. Daniel Robinson, Ofc. Travis Couch, Ofc. Ashley Wampler, and Ofc. Cody Faulconer were awarded the Professional Esteem Award in recognition of their exemplary performance of duties.